Running a Shop Law

ACA, ASE Recognize World Class Technicians

Order Reprints

May 21, 2015—On Wednesday, 17 out of nearly 840,000 automotive technicians working in the U.S. were recognized with the prestigious 2015 World Class Technician Award, presented by the Auto Care Association (ACA) and National Institute for the Automotive Service Excellence (ASE).

To be eligible for the award, technicians must have been tested on and obtained ASE certification in 22 specialty areas administered by ASE in 2014.

The 2015 World Class Technicians are:

  • Richard Bornhorst, Des Plaines, Ill.
  • David Bourn, Las Vegas, Nev.
  • Benjamin Brown, Joliet, Ill.
  • Charles Cole, Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • Jerry Drake, Tucson, Ariz.
  • Richard Forstner, Baltimore, Md.
  • Fred Goodgame, Hesperia, Calif.
  • Gary Harvey, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Timothy Kennedy, Streamwood, Ill.
  • David Lemeilleur, Kerrville, Texas
  • Robert Macas, Oak Lawn, Ill.
  • Scott Mcdonald, Hendersonvlle, Tenn.
  • Bruce Morris, Spring, Texas
  • Brian Perry, Houston, Texas
  • Walter Ralph, Bradenton, Fla.
  • Daniel Riley, Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Philip Sonnenburg, Grapevine, Texas

“Recipients of the World Class Technician Award are truly the best of the best and the Auto Care Association is proud to recognize these professionals with ASE,” said Kathleen Schmatz, president and CEO of the ACA. “Passing 22 ASE tests is a monumental achievement requiring exceptional knowledge and skills.”

Since the World Class Technician recognition was established 29 years ago, only 1,902 technicians have been honored. Recipients are awarded with a special certificate signed by the presidents of ASE and the ACA, an embroidered shoulder insignia and a logo medallion. Their name is also inscribed in an honor book in the Automotive Hall of Fame in Dearborn, Mich.

Related Articles

ACA, ASE Recognize 2016 World Class Technicians

AAIA and ASE Announce 2013 World Class Technician Award

ASE to Recognize Automotive Service Professionals Week

You must login or register in order to post a comment.