AASP-MN Raises $14,000 for Education

Order Reprints

Jan. 22, 2020—The Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN) held its 18th Annual Race for Automotive Education, January 14, 15 and 16, at ProKart Indoor Racing in Burnsville. The event raised over $14,000 to support the Alliance’s Automotive Education Fund and will fund scholarships for automotive students enrolled in ASE-accredited auto service and collision repair programs in Minnesota technical colleges.

During the three-nights, 180 racers took to the track in go-karts reaching speeds of up to 40 miles per hour. Twenty-four teams of auto service and collision repair shops and industry suppliers were joined by twelve teams of automotive students from Dakota County Technical College, Dunwoody College of Technology, Hennepin Technical College (North and South Campuses), Lake Superior College, South Central College and St. Cloud Community & Technical College. The student teams were sponsored by 1 Collision Network.

Trophies were awarded to the 1st place and runner-up teams each night. They were:

Tuesday, January 14th 

1st place – BLVD Autoworks, St. Anthony, Minn.

Runner-up – Lancer Service, St. Paul, Minn.

Wednesday, January 15th

1st place – Collision repair students from Hennepin Technical College, Eden Prairie, Minn.

Runner-up – Collision repair students from St. Cloud Community & Technical College, St. Cloud, Minn.

Thursday, January 16th 

1st Place – LaMettry’s Collision, team #1, Twin Cities, Minn.

Runner-up – Wenzel Auto Electric, Mankato, Minn.

In addition to the 36 race teams, the event was supported by the following sponsors:

  • 1 Collision Network
  • Auto Value Parts Stores/APH
  • Axalta Coating Systems
  • Finishmaster
  • Fourth Street Auto Repair 
  • LKQ – Minnesota
  • Lube-Tech & Partners
  • PPG Automotive Finishes
  • United Fire Group

Related Articles

AASP-MN Raises Money for Education Fund

AASP-MN Raises $42K for Industry Career Promotion

AASP-MN Hosts Race for Automotive Education

You must login or register in order to post a comment.