AWDA's 2020 Industry Award Winners Announced

Order Reprints

Nov. 17, 2020—The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, has officially announced the winners of its annual AWDA Industry Awards, according to a press release. 

The awards honor individuals and companies that have shown an exceptional ability to educate, innovate, manage and lead over the past year. Winners were recognized during this week's 2020 AWDA Virtual Experience event. 

Gates Corp. national training manager Bobby Bassett was honored with the Excellence in Education Award and E. Fletcher Lord Jr. of Replacement Parts, Inc. was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award but the 2020 awards were the first in 26 years to recognize two individuals jointly for the community's highest award. 

Bill Hanvey, president and CEO, Auto Care Association and Paul McCarthy, president and COO, Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA) were both honored with the Outstanding Leadership Award. 

“The past year has witnessed unprecedented challenges for the motor vehicle aftermarket and its two major trade associations,” said Larry Northup, executive director, AWDA, in the release. “Hanvey and McCarthy were forced to deal with multiple threats to the viability of their industry and respective associations. The impacts of the successful battle for the Right-to-Repair in Massachusetts, the devastation of COVID-19, the cancellation AAPEX and conversion of most other events to un-tested virtual formats were far-reaching and unprecedented.

Related Articles

Automotive Communications Award Winners Announced

2017 Auto Care Association Impact Award Winners Announced

You must login or register in order to post a comment.