Wisconsin Considering Catalytic Converter Law
Oct. 12, 2021—Wisconsin’s state legislature is considering a bill that would make it more difficult to sell catalytic converters, the Wisconsin Public Radio reported.
Under the new law, anyone selling a catalytic converter to a scrap dealer would need to be 18 years of age and would be required to show personal identification and proof of lawful ownership. Scrap dealers would be required to maintain sales records and when proof of ownership isn't provided, refuse the sale and report the incident to law enforcement within one business day.
If a scrap dealer fails to comply with the new law, they could face a $1,000 fine and/or 90 days in jail. For a second offense, the penalty jumps to $10,000 and up to nine months in jail.
State Representative Clint Moses says converter thefts have risen, especially since Minnesota passed legislation cracking down on the sale of catalytic converters. Thus, thieves from Minnesota are coming over to Wisconsin to steal and sell them.