Running a Shop Education+Training

Michelin/TIA Scholarship Award Winners Announced

Order Reprints

Nov. 4, 2015—Michelin North America and the Tire Industry Association (TIA) announced on Tuesday the three recipients of the Michelin/TIA Scholarship Award for the 2015-2016 academic school year.

The recipients were:

  • Sydney Burgess of Fort Mohave, Ariz.
  • Levi Lewis of Greencastle, Ind.
  • Remmy Rocha of Gothenburg, Neb.

A total of $6,250 was awarded to the three students to be used for their college education.

"With the rising cost of higher education, the importance of this scholarship program continues to grow. TIA is pleased to work alongside Michelin again this year to sponsor this initiative," said Roy Littlefield, TIA executive vice president.

The Michelin/TIA Scholarship has been awarded annually since 2000 to either part-time employees or dependent children of full-time employees of TIA member tire dealers. Since the beginning, over $250,000 has been awarded to 52 recipients of the scholarship who have gone on to attend accredited two-year, four-year, technical or vocational schools. Once the scholarship is awarded, the recipients may renew their scholarship for up to three more years.   

The scholarship winners were recognized at the Tire Industry Honors Awards Ceremony, which was held on Monday, Nov. 2 at the Tropicana Las Vegas.

Related Articles

Michelin, TIA Accepting Scholarship Applications

Michelin/TIA Scholarship Open for Applicants

ACA Internship Scholarship Winners Announced

You must login or register in order to post a comment.