ASA Appoints New Board of Directors

Order Reprints

May 9, 2017—The Automotive Service Association (ASA) introduced a new board of directors at its 2017 Annual Meeting at The Magnolia Hotel in Denver.

ASA’s new board of directors began their terms at the close of the annual business meeting. Serving the first year of their two-year terms on the board are:

  • Roy Schnepper, AAM, the new chairman, Butler’s Collision, Roseville, Mich.
  • Ed Cushman, AMAM, chairman-elect, C&H Foreign Auto Repair, Spokane, Wash.
  • Frederick Hules II, general director, Tech 1 Auto, Peoria, Ariz.

Schnepper appointed Darrell Amberson, AMAM, immediate past chairman, LaMettry’s Collision, Minneapolis, Minn., to serve a second consecutive term as immediate past chairman. Donny Seyfer, AMAM, resigned as immediate past chairman to take on his new role as an ASA training consultant.

Scott Benavidez, AAM, Collision Division director, Mr. B’s Paint & Body Shop, Albuquerque, N.M., was re-elected for a two-year term. Bob Wills, AAM, Wills Auto Service, Battle Creek, Mich., begins his second year of a two-year term as mechanical division director; and John Cochrane, Cochrane Automotive, Etobicoke, Ont., general director, begins his second year of a two-year term as general director.

In addition, Bill Moss, AMAM, EuroService Automotive, Warrenton, Va., was reappointed to the board for a one-year term as secretary/treasurer;

Dan Risley, ASA president/executive director, also serves on the ASA board of directors in an ex-officio capacity.

“The annual meeting is always an exciting time of the year as it provides us an opportunity to recognize the efforts of our volunteers, who tirelessly give back to the industry," Risley said. "The meeting also helps set the stage for the remainder of the year as we establish direction and priorities to advance ASA. We want to especially thank Federated Insurance, Advance Professional and AutoZone that helped sponsor some of our networking events this year. Their presence and support is greatly appreciated.”

Scott Benavidez, director of the collision operations committee, recognized April Hernandez, AAM, for her longtime service to ASA with a Phoenix Award. The Phoenix Award recognizes an ASA collision division member for his or her contributions to the automotive service industry and is the highest award given to a collision member. Bob Wills, AAM, director of the mechanical operations committee, recognized Tom Piippo, AAM, with an Alpha Award for his commitment and service to ASA’s mechanical division; the Alpha Award is the highest award given to a mechanical member.

The annual meeting capped off with a Colorado Rockies baseball game at Coors Field sponsored by AutoZone. AutoZone hosted members and guests in a dedicated suite, where they enjoyed refreshments and networking while taking in the game.


Recommended Products

2016 Ratchet+Wrench Shop Technology Survey: Complete Report

2015 Ratchet+Wrench Shop Performance Survey: Complete Report

2016 Ratchet+Wrench Shop Performance Survey: Complete Report

Related Articles

ASA Swears in New Board of Directors

ASA Announces 2018 Board of Directors

Voting Begins For ASA National Board Of Directors

You must login or register in order to post a comment.