SMP Chooses Winners of Inaugural Scholarship

Order Reprints

Nov. 7, 2017—Standard Motor Products, Inc. (SMP) announces the winners of its inaugural Standard Blue Streak ‘Stronger Than Ever’ Scholarship Competition: Daniel McMahon of Universal Technical Institute Sacramento, Calif., and Hayden Anderson of Lake Area Tech in Watertown, S.D.

McMahon and Anderson will each receive a $5,000 scholarship to apply toward the pursuit or continuation of their education in automotive technology and repair at a technical school or college.

McMahon and Anderson were chosen from a pool of nearly 400 students who entered the competition.

Students were asked to complete an online questionnaire and submit a current photo of themselves.

Entries were evaluated based on relevance, creativity, and thoughtfulness in regards to the automotive industry.

The competition's judge, Ken Elzinga, Master Technician and Owner at Hilltop Auto, determined that McMahon and Anderson best exhibited the drive and dedication that is representative of Standard Blue Streak.

Recommended Products

2015 Ratchet+Wrench Shop Performance Survey: Complete Report

2016 Ratchet+Wrench Shop Technology Survey: Complete Report

2016 Ratchet+Wrench Shop Performance Survey: Complete Report

Related Articles

SMP Announces Winners of Intermotor Scholarship Contest

SMP Receives Inaugural MERA Certification for its Diesel Fuel Injectors

YANG Announces 2018 Next Step Program Scholarship Winners

You must login or register in order to post a comment.