SMP Announces Winners of Intermotor Scholarship Contest

Order Reprints

Dec. 19. 2017—Standard Motor Products (SMP) announced the winners of its third annual Intermotor ‘Import Leader Automotive Scholarship’ Competition: Ian Fisher of Bay de Noc Community College in Escanaba, Mich., and Zachary Natale of Rosedale Technical College in Pittsburgh.

Fisher and Natale will each receive a $5,000 scholarship to apply toward the pursuit or continuation of their education in automotive technology and repair at a technical school or college.

Fisher and Natale were chosen from a pool of over 300 students who entered the competition.

Students were asked to complete an online questionnaire and submit a current photo of themselves. Entries were evaluated based on relevance, creativity, and thoughtfulness in regards to the automotive import industry.

The competition's judge, Ken Elzinga, master technician and owner at Hilltop Auto, determined that Fisher and Natale best exhibited the import excellence that the Intermotor brand represents.

Phil Hutchens, vice president of engine management marketing, SMP, commented on the news, stating, "SMP is proud to support the next generation of automotive import technicians. Judging from the winners and the rest of our applicants, the future of our industry is in good hands."

Related Articles

SMP Chooses Winners of Inaugural Scholarship

Pep Boys Announces Winners of $100K Scholarship Program

SMP Announces Promotion Winners

You must login or register in order to post a comment.